## MINUTES

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION

Wednesday, April 11, 2012 9:00 a.m. Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

\*\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Higher Education was held on Wednesday, April 11, 2012, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*\*

MEMBERS PRESENT: Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair Senator Brian Birdwell, Vice Chair Senator Kirk Watson Senator Royce West **MEMBERS ABSENT:** Senator Robert Duncan Senator Joan Huffman Senator Jeff Wentworth

\*\*\*\*\*

Senator Judith Zaffirini called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The Chair recognized the clerk to call roll.

There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The Chair laid out the proposed committee rules for consideration, and Senator Birdwell moved their adoption. There being no objection, the motion was adopted by unanimous consent.

The Chair invited committee members to make opening remarks and to introduce their respective staff members. Accordingly, Senator Birdwell introduced Casey Kelley; Senator West, Lajuana Barton; and Senator Watson, Edna Butts.

The Chair invited Representative Ruth Jones McClendon to make opening remarks.

Senator Zaffirini introduced the Senate Higher Education Committee staff for the 82<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Interim, namely, Ray Martinez, Committee Director, General Counsel, and Chief of

Staff; Mark Kavanaugh, Policy Analyst; Tracy Arámbula Ballysingh, Policy Analyst; and Ashlee Peña, Assistant Committee Clerk. She also introduced the Lieutenant Governor's staff, John Opperman and Caasi Lamb; and the Governor's staff, Kate McGrath, Marisha Negovetich, and David Young.

The Chair made opening remarks and explained that the purpose of the hearing was to address interim charge four:

Interim Charge Four: Examine the existing transfer systems and the potential development of a 2+2 transfer system between public junior colleges and universities. Examine the transfer of credit between degree-granting private sector colleges, public junior colleges, and public universities. Examine the impact of national, regional, and professional accrediting associations on course credit transfer.

The following invited witnesses testified regarding transfer:

**Panel 1.** Examine the existing transfer systems and the potential development of a 2+2 transfer system between public junior colleges and universities. Examine the transfer of credit between degree-granting private sector colleges, public junior colleges, and public universities. Examine the impact of national, regional, and professional accrediting associations on course credit transfer.

- a. Raymund Paredes, PhD, Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
- b. Marc Cutright, EdD, Associate Professor, Department of Counseling and Higher Education, the University of North Texas

## **Panel 2.** Examine the transfer of credit between degree-granting private sector colleges, public junior colleges, and public universities.

- a. Martha Ellis, PhD, The University of Texas System, Associate Vice Chancellor for Community College Partnerships.
- b. Dana Gibson, D.B.A., President, Sam Houston State University
- c. Richard Rhodes, PhD, President, Austin Community College
- d. Joe Fisher, President and CEO, Hallmark College System and Legislative Committee Chair, Career Colleges and Schools of Texas

## **Panel 3.** Examine the impact of national, regional, and professional accrediting associations on course credit transfer.

- a. MacGregor Stephenson, PhD, Assistant Commissioner, Workforce, Academic Affairs, and Research, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
- b. Karan Watson, PhD, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Texas A&M University
- c. Anthony Bieda, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools.

The Chair opened the floor for public testimony.

Names of witnesses who provided public testimony are shown on the attached list. The Chair closed public testimony.

There being no further business, at 12:34 p.m. Senator Zaffirini announced that the Committee would stand recessed, subject to the call of the Chair.

Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair

Ashlee Peña, Clerk