MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, April 8, 2013 11:30 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, April 8, 2013, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Glenn Hegar, Chair Senator Donna Campbell, Vice Chair Senator Troy Fraser Senator Sylvia Garcia Senator Jane Nelson Senator Kirk Watson

Senator John Carona

The chair called the meeting to order at 11:30 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Troy Fraser.

Senator Eltife was recognized to introduce Commissioner Jeff Austin, III, nominee to the Texas Transportation Commission, to the committee.

Senator Hancock was recognized to introduce Victor Vandergriff, nominee to the Texas Transportation Commission, to the committee.

Senator Watson, on behalf of Senator Huffman, introduced the Honorable Jeffrey A. Moseley, nominee to the Texas Transportation Commission, to the committee.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 8, 2013 Page 2

The three nominees made opening statements and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Public testimony was provided in support of Judge Moseley's nomination to the Texas Transportation Commission. See attached witness list.

The nominees to the Texas Transportation Commission were left pending before the committee.

Senator Watson was recognized to introduce the Honorable Jeffrey S. Boyd, nominee to the Supreme Court of Texas, to the committee.

Justice Boyd made an opening statement and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Justice Boyd's nomination was left pending before the committee.

Senator Watson moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on March 25, 2013; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Nelson, on behalf of Senator Fraser, introduced Angelos G. Angelou, nominee to the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee, to the committee.

Chairman Hegar, on behalf of Senator Duncan, introduced the Honorable Gerald Geistweidt, nominee to the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee, to the committee.

The nominees to the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee made opening statements and answered questions from the members of the committee.

The nominees to the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee were left pending before the committee.

All non-appearing nominees were left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 12:50 PM Senator Nelson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 8, 2013

Page 3

Pursuant to the adoption of the suspension of Senate Rule 11.10, the Senate Committee on Nominations reconvened at Chairman Hegar's desk for the purpose of voting on all of the nominees that were left pending from the meeting held earlier in the day.

Chairman Hegar called the meeting to order and the roll was called. A quorum being present, the following business was transacted:

At the request of Senator Garcia, the committee severed the name of the Honorable Jeffrey S. Boyd.

Senator Hegar moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee, Credit Union Commission, Rio Grande Regional Water Authority Board of Directors, Risk Management Board for the State Office of Risk Management, Texas Council on Purchasing from People with Disabilities, and Texas Transportation Commission, Texas Department of Transportation. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Hegar moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Jeffrey Scott Boyd to the Supreme Court of Texas. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 1 nay, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

At the request of Senator Garcia, the nominees to the Texas Crime Stoppers Council were left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 4:26 PM Senator Hegar moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Glenn Hegar, Chair	
Senator Greim Fregur, Chair	
Jake Johnson, Clerk	