By: Birdwell, Zaffirini S.B. No. 1893

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the administrative judicial regions in this state. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 SECTION 1. Section 74.042, Government Code, is amended to 5 read as follows: Sec. 74.042. ADMINISTRATIVE REGIONS. The state is 6 (a) 7 divided into 13 [nine] administrative judicial regions. 8 (b) The First Administrative Judicial Region is composed of 9 the counties of Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Waller, and Washington [Anderson, 10 Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Collin, Dallas, Delta, Ellis, Fannin, 11 Franklin, Crayson, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, 12 Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, 13

14 Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood]. 15 (c) The Second Administrative Judicial Region is composed 16 of the counties of Archer, Clay, Cooke, Denton, Hood, Jack, 17 Montague, Parker, Tarrant, Wichita, Wise, and Young [Angelina, 18 Bastrop, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Fort Bend, 19 Freestone, Galveston, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, 20 Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, 21 Newton, Orange, Polk, Robertson, Sabine, San Augustine, San 22

(d) The Third Administrative Judicial Region is composed of

Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington, and Wharton].

23

24

- 1 the counties of Bastrop, [Austin] Bell, Blanco, Bastrop, Burnet,
- 2 Caldwell, Coke, [Colorado, Comal, Concho, Comanche, Coryell,
- 3 Falls, Fayette, [Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hamilton,] Hays, Irion,
- 4 [Hill, Lampasas, Lee, [Lavaca, Llano, McCulloch, [McLennan,]
- 5 Milam, Mills, Runnels, [Navarro,] San Saba, Schleicher, Sterling,
- 6 Tom Green, Travis, and Williamson.
- 7 (e) The Fourth Administrative Judicial Region is composed
- 8 of the counties of [Aransas, Atascosa, Bandera, [Bee, Bexar,
- 9 Brooks, [Calhoun, DeWitt,] Dimmit, Duval, Edwards, Frio,
- 10 Gillespie, Guadalupe, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, [Goliad, Jackson,]
- 11 Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, LaSalle, Mason, [Live Oak,]
- 12 Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Real, Starr, Sutton, Uvalde,
- 13 <u>Val Verde</u>, [Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria,] Webb, Wilson, Zapata,
- 14 and Zavala.
- 15 (f) The Fifth Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 16 the counties of Collin, Dallas, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, and
- 17 Rockwall [Brooks, Cameron, Duval, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells,
- 18 Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces, Starr, and Willacy].
- 19 (g) The Sixth Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 20 the counties of Bowie, Camp, Cass, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Gregg,
- 21 Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Panola, Red River,
- 22 Rusk, Titus, Upshur, and Wood [Bandera, Brewster, Crockett,
- 23 Culberson, Edwards, El Paso, Gillespie, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis,
- 24 Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Mason, McCulloch, Medina, Menard,
- 25 Pecos, Presidio, Reagan, Real, Sutton, Terrell, Upton, Uvalde, and
- 26 Val Verde].
- 27 (h) The Seventh Administrative Judicial Region is composed

S.B. No. 1893

- 1 of the counties of Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Castro,
- 2 Childress, Cochran, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Deaf
- 3 Smith, Dickens, Donley, Floyd, Foard, [Andrews, Borden, Brown,
- 4 Callahan, Coke, Coleman, Concho, Crane, Dawson, Ector, Fisher,
- 5 Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley,
- 6 Hemphill, Hockley, Hutchinson, [Glasscock, Haskell, Howard, Irion,
- 7 Jones, Kent, King, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Moore, Motley,
- 8 Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman,
- 9 Swisher, Terry, Wilbarger, Wheeler, and Yoakum [Loving, Lynn,
- 10 Martin, Midland, Mills, Mitchell, Nolan, Reeves, Runnels,
- 11 Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sterling, Stonewall, Taylor,
- 12 Throckmorton, Tom Green, Ward, and Winkler].
- 13 (i) The Eighth Administrative Judicial Region is composed
- 14 of the counties of Andrews, Brewster, Crane, Crockett, Culberson,
- 15 El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Loving, Pecos, Presidio, Reagan,
- 16 Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler [Archer, Clay, Cooke,
- 17 Denton, Eastland, Erath, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Montague, Palo Pinto,
- 18 Parker, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Wichita, Wise, and Young].
- 19 (j) The Ninth Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 20 the counties of Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery,
- 21 Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, and Tyler [Armstrong, Bailey,
- 22 Baylor, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran,
- 23 Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens,
- 24 Donley, Floyd, Foard, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman,
- 25 Hartley, Hemphill, Hockley, Hutchinson, King, Knox, Lamb,
- 26 Lipscomb, Lubbock, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer,
- 27 Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Terry, Wheeler,

- 1 Wilbarger, and Yoakum].
- 2 (k) The Tenth Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 3 the counties of Bosque, Burleson, Brazos, Coryell, Ellis, Falls,
- 4 Freestone, Hamilton, Hill, Johnson, Leon, Limestone, Madison,
- 5 McLennan, Navarro, Robertson, Somervell, and Walker.
- 6 (1) The Eleventh Administrative Judicial Region is composed
- 7 of the counties of Baylor, Borden, Brown, Callahan, Coleman,
- 8 Comanche, Dawson, Eastland, Ector, Erath, Fisher, Gaines,
- 9 Glasscock, Haskell, Howard, Jones, Knox, Martin, Midland,
- 10 Mitchell, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens,
- 11 Stonewall, Taylor, and Throckmorton.
- 12 (m) The Twelfth Administrative Judicial Region is composed
- 13 of the counties of Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson,
- 14 Houston, Nacogdoches, Rains, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby,
- 15 Smith, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.
- 16 (n) The Thirteenth Administrative Judicial Region is
- 17 composed of the counties of Aransas, Bee, Calhoun, Cameron, DeWitt,
- 18 Goliad, Gonzales, Hidalgo, Jackson, Kenedy, Kleberg, Lavaca, Live
- 19 Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Wharton,
- 20 and Willacy.
- 21 SECTION 2. Section 74.254(a), Government Code, is amended
- 22 to read as follows:
- 23 (a) The judicial committee for additional resources is
- 24 composed of:
- 25 (1) the chief justice of the supreme court; and
- 26 (2) the [nine] presiding judges of the administrative
- 27 judicial regions.

S.B. No. 1893

- 1 SECTION 3. (a) The Tenth, Eleventh, Twelfth, and
- 2 Thirteenth Administrative Judicial Regions are created on the
- 3 effective date of this Act.
- 4 (b) On the effective date of this Act, the governor, with
- 5 the advice and consent of the senate, shall appoint a judge to serve
- 6 as presiding judge in each of the Tenth, Eleventh, Twelfth, and
- 7 Thirteenth Administrative Judicial Regions and of any
- 8 administrative judicial region in which a vacancy in office occurs
- 9 because the presiding judge of a judicial region is no longer
- 10 qualified to serve as the presiding judge of the region because of
- 11 the composition of the region on the effective date of this Act.
- 12 (c) On the effective date of this Act, the county in which a
- 13 presiding judge appointed under Subsection (b) of this section
- 14 resides shall provide adequate quarters for the operation of the
- 15 applicable administrative judicial region.
- SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2017.