MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Friday, August 11, 2017 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was held on Friday, August 11, 2017, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

Senator Larry Taylor, Chair Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., Vice Chair Senator Paul Bettencourt Senator Donna Campbell Senator Bob Hall Senator Don Huffines Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Kel Seliger Senator Van Taylor Senator Carlos Uresti Senator Royce West

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:02 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Lucio, Jr. assumed the chair.

The chair laid out HB 21 and recognized the Senate sponsor, Senator Larry Taylor, to explain the bill.

Senator Larry Taylor sent up a committee substitute. The chair recognized Senator Larry Taylor to explain the difference between the committee substitute and the house bill as engrossed.

Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on the attached list.

There being no further business, at 10:54 AM Senator Lucio, Jr. moved that the Committee stand recessed. Without objection, it was so ordered.

At 3:10 PM Senator Larry Taylor reconvened the meeting.

Senator Lucio, Jr. assumed the chair.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Larry Taylor moved adoption of the committee substitute; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Larry Taylor moved that HB 21 do not pass but that CSHB 21 be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 1 nay, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Larry Taylor resumed the chair.

There being no further business, at 3:43 PM Senator Larry Taylor moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Larry Taylor, Chair

Daniel Warner, Clerk