MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Higher Education was held on Wednesday, March 22, 2017, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Kel Seliger, Chair Senator Royce West, Vice Chair Senator Paul Bettencourt Senator Larry Taylor Senator Kirk Watson

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator José Menéndez

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 AM.

On March 21, 2017, Senator Seliger suspended Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18 so that the Committee on Higher Education can meet on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 8:00 AM.

The chair laid out SB 1323 and recognized the author, Senator Zaffirini, to explain the bill.

The chair laid out SB 442 and recognized the author, Senator Rodríguez, to explain the bill.

The chair laid out SB 250 and recognized Senator Taylor, in the absence of the author, to explain the bill.

Senator Taylor assumed the chair.

The chair laid out SB 19 and recognized the author, Senator Seliger, to explain the bill.

The chair laid out SB 543 and recognized the author, Senator Seliger, to explain the bill.

Senator West assumed the chair.

A quorum was established at 8:28 AM.

Witnesses testifying and registering on SB 19, SB 250, SB 442, SB 543, and SB 1323 are shown on the attached list.

Senator Bettencourt moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearings held on March 15, 2017, and March 22, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

The chair moved that SB 19, SB 250, SB 442, SB 543 and SB 1323 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Seliger resumed the chair.

There being no further business, at 9:41 AM Senator Seliger moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Kel Seliger, Chair

Daniel Warner, Clerk