## MINUTES

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 2, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 2, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*\*

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

MEMBERS ABSENT: Senator José Menéndez

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

\*\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Borris Miles.

Senator Watson moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on February 23, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Estes moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Board for Lease of Texas Parks and Wildlife Lands, Commission on State Emergency Communications, Criminal District Attorney, Dallas County, Criminal District Attorney, Kendall County, and Texas Military Department. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Bettencourt to introduce Donna Bahorich, who has been re-nominated to serve as the Chair to the State Board of Education, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell then recognized Senator Huffines to introduce Commissioner Mike Morath, who has been nominated to serve as the State Commissioner of Education, to the committee.

Chairwoman Bahorich was recognized to offer an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Senator Taylor, Senator Miles, and Chairman Birdwell.

Upon completion of Chairwoman Bahorich's testimony, Commissioner Morath was recognized to offer an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Senator Estes, Senator Miles, Senator Taylor, Chairman Birdwell, Senator Watson, and Senator Buckingham.

Upon completion of all questions, public testimony was offered on both Chairwoman Bahorich and Commissioner Morath. (See attached witness list). All public testimony documents submitted were placed into the committee record.

All nominees were left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:05 a.m., Senator Buckingham moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair

John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk