MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, April 6, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, April 6, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator José Menéndez Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

None

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There not being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Buckingham, Senator Estes, Vice-Chairman Watson, and Senator Menéndez.

Senator Taylor moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday March 30, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Miles moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Sulphur River Basin Authority Board of Directors, and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, April 6, 2017 Page 2

present not voting, and 0 absent. The following members submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye: Senator Estes, Senator Menéndez, and Vice-Chairman Watson. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Huffman to introduce her constituent Mr. Tilman Fertitta, who has been re-nominated to the University of Houston System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Bettencourt to introduce his constituent Mrs. Laura Ryan-Heizer, who has been re-nominated to the Texas Transportation Commission, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Campbell to introduce her constituent Executive Commissioner Charles Smith, who has been re-nominated to serve as the Executive Commissioner of Health and Human Services, to the committee.

Mr. Fertitta made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Dean Whitmire, Senator Taylor, Senator Miles, and Chairman Birdwell.

Executive Commissioner Smith made an opening statement.

Senator Watson assumed the chair.

Senator Nichols was recognized to offer comments of support for Mrs. Laura Ryan-Heizer.

Chairman Birdwell resumed the chair.

Questions and comments for Executive Commissioner Smith were offered by the following members: Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Menéndez, Senator Miles, and Chairman Birdwell.

At 10:01 a.m., Chairman Birdwell announced that the committee would stand at ease until 15 minutes upon adjournment of the Senate.

The Chair called the meeting back to order at 12:15 p.m.

Mrs. Ryan made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Senator Menéndez, Senator Miles, and Chairman Birdwell.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, April 6, 2017 Page 3

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 1:00 p.m., Senator M recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection	
Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	

John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk