MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, February 27, 2023 10:00 A.M. Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, February 27, 2023, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

None

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Drew Springer

The chair called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Alvarado and Senator Paxton.

Chair Campbell offered opening comments and recognized the other members of the committee to do the same.

Senator Springer moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Chairman Hancock to introduce his constituent George Cannata, who has been nominated to be the Director of the Office of Community-Based Care Transition.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Parker to introduce his constituent The Honorable Jane Nelson, who has been nominated to be the Secretary of State.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Johnson to introduce his constituent Lawrence Long, who has been nominated to the Public Safety Commission.

Chair Campbell recognized Chairwoman Kolkhorst to introduce her constituent Commissioner Cassie Brown, who has been nominated to be the Commissioner of Insurance.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Courtney Hjaltman, who has been nominated as the Chief Executive and Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel.

Mrs. Courtney Hjaltman made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. One witness card was submitted registering a position only in support of Mrs. Hjaltman's nomination. See the attached witness list.

Secretary of State Jane Nelson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Miles, Senator Alvarado, Senator Springer, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Lawrence Long made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks. No public testimony was offered.

Commissioner Cassie Brown made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. George Cannata made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell, Senator Miles, and Senator Sparks. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Commissioner Stephanie Muth, who has been nominated to be the Commissioner of the Department of Family and Protective Services. Commissioner Stephanie Muth made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell, Senator Miles, and Senator Sparks. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent L'Oreal Stepney, who has been nominated to the Texas Water Development Board.

Mrs. L'Oreal Stepney made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent George Peyton, who has been nominated to the Texas Water Development Board.

Mr. George Peyton made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Commissioner Jeff Nelson, who has been nominated to be the Commissioner of Workers' Compensation.

Commissioner Jeff Nelson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Dirk Johnson, who has been nominated to be the Injured Employee Public Counsel.

Mr. Dirk Johnson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator LaMantia to introduce her constituent Commissioner Alberto Trevino, who has been nominated to the Texas Workforce Commission.

Commissioner Alberto Trevino made an opening statement. Senator Campbell, Senator Eckhardt, and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that the nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 12:23 p.m., Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair

Brandon Gajeton, Clerk